In Defence of Women

I’m trying to be really serious about my writing this year, and one of the things I’ve done in an attempt to be disciplined is make a list of writing competitions that I WILL be entering this year. One of these, whose deadline is rapidly approaching, is a women writers’ prize with the theme ‘In Defence of Women’.

Initially I was excited. There are so many ways to approach the subject – especially as the organisers have indicated that they will accept any prose, fiction or non-fiction. Having mulled over the brief for about a month now, I’m still excited, but at the same time terrified…there are so many ways to approach the subject!! I’m overflowing with ideas, but still have no idea what to write…

Part of me is incensed…the suggestion that women need defending at all in this day and age should be incredibly offensive. After all – aren’t we all supposed to be striving towards equality? Then again, there are some things that some women do, which are…well…not great. Look at the types of ‘girl on girl’ crime that cause body image issues, and the constant one-upmanship that goes on when women discuss their careers/relationships/children… If feminism was about women having the right to choose how to live their own lives, what right do women have to judge each other for the choices they’ve made??

These are just some of the ideas which whizz around my mind every time I think about this task…and I’m still torn as to which approach to take. With only six weeks left until the closing date, the only thing I’m certain of is that it’s time I got something down on paper (or in a word document!)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “In Defence of Women

  1. Pingback: The Disciplined Writer | Musings of an aspiring scribbler

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

