Where did the time go???

I can’t believe that after only three weeks, I’ve already started to neglect my blog! Rest assured, I’ve thought about posting every day: I just haven’t had the right combination of something interesting to say, and the time required to write it down. Here’s why:

Easter is a very busy time in our household…in fact it’s a very busy time for our entire town. Our Easter festival is advertised as one of the longest running cultural festivals in the country. My parents have volunteered as part of this festival for as long as I can remember, and they used to take us along with them every year. Somewhere along the line, without really thinking about it, I also got drafted into volunteering.

While the obvious downside of this is that I don’t get to relax and enjoy the parades and exhibitions that run during the long weekend – instead coming home so exhausted that I can barely keep myself upright long enough to cook dinner – there are benefits for a writer…

At festivals of this kind, you meet people you’d be unlikely to meet at other times of the year…like the man who runs his market stall while wearing a pink kangaroo outfit complete with a stuffed toy joey in the front pouch! Being a volunteer at a festival, you get many opportunities to witness the strange behaviour of people who have let their guard down, and let their hair down.

There are a couple of ideas I had over the long weekend – one of which I am particularly proud of – but I feel that these deserve a little more attention before they’re ready for publication. So in the mean time I just wanted to say: I’m still here, and I’ll be back!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Where did the time go???

  1. You’re not alone. I find it difficult to blog every day; sometimes the day job gets in the way; sometimes I don’t feel I have anything worthwhile/interesting to say; sometimes it feels like a chore rather than a pleasure. When it gets like that I don’t write. Don’t worry, we’ll still be here. 🙂

    • Thanks 🙂

      It was never my intention to write here every day – that wouldn’t be realistic – but I was very surprised that I’d somehow missed a whole week!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

