The day jobs we have to have

If you’ve been following my blog, you may have noticed that it’s been very quiet over the past few weeks… Did you notice?? No?? Well it has. There have been a few reasons for this…

You might have read an earlier post, The Disciplined Writer. This explains a lot really, so I’m not going to re-hash it. Why waste time repeating myself??

My last post was a book review, and I had so much fun writing it, that I thought I’d start on another one. Unfortunately for me, the book I’ve chosen is 1200 pages long, and I’m only 250 pages into it, so it could be a while! Stay tuned…I’m determined to finish it one day!!

The final, and most pressing reason why I’ve been so quiet lately is that I’ve been busy with my day job. Not the (so far) unpaid one for which I crawl out of bed and tap away at my laptop in whatever’s comfortable – pyjamas, for instance – but the one where I have to put on something professional looking, turn up on time and do what I’m told all day… Lucky for me, this job also entails a great deal of writing, but not the creative, entertaining type I long for. Instead I mostly spend my time writing reports, analysing surveys, editing newsletters…you get the picture.

Don’t get me wrong…I actually love my job. So much so that even though I don’t earn enough to pay the bills, I stay there for the experience. The problem is, by the time I’m finished with all the business writing, I find that I’ve run out of my daily limit of inspiration…meaning my poor little blog, my short stories and my novels don’t get the love and attention they deserve. Maybe one day I’ll find a balance between the two – or better still, get paid for writing the creative stuff – but in the meantime I’ll keep plugging away, scraping out some spare time whenever I can find it…

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The day jobs we have to have

  1. Thanks for visiting and liking. I have a day job too…sometimes it just takes over and I have to let it if I want to pay the mortgage. enjoy your reading!

    • Thanks for your comments.One of the best parts of my job is the 2-hour train trip each way. Most people see that as a downside…I see it as more time for reading/writing!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

