Some food for thought…

“A person is a fool to become a writer. His only compensation is absolute freedom. He has no master except his own soul, and that, I am sure, is why he does it.” – Roald Dahl

This quote has been the wallpaper on my laptop for the past few weeks. It reminds me why I write (and when I’m feeling sluggish it reminds me TO write!)

In one sense, Dahl is absolutely right. A writer is free in many ways. Free to choose when and where they work, for how long, and on what project. A writer can give free reign to their imagination, visiting any time or place (real or imaginary) and make their characters whatever they want them to be.

Unfortunately, that ‘free’ writer isn’t making any money…at least, not enough to live on (unless of course he or she is so popular that they get to dictate terms to their publisher!) Those of us who live in the real world still have some restrictions. We have to meet deadlines and submission guidelines, avoid infringing on other peoples’ copyright, and in many cases, hold down a day job as well.

That said, this quote reminds me that it is worth dealing with the restrictions in order to have the freedom. That’s why I keep writing. Because I love the freedom!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

