When having a brainwave is a bad idea…

A few days ago I was complaining that a story I’m working on has not been working the way I want.  There are parts I’m really proud of, but there are also a few massive plot-holes that I’ve been struggling to fill.

Yesterday I had an epiphany… I saw it at last! Big flashing lights that pointed out exactly what was wrong. And I don’t know how to fix it.

Strike that. I know what needs to be done, I just don’t know that I want to fix it…

Well of course I want to fix it! I’ve been working on this story for nearly a year, and with the deadline so close I’d hate to have nothing to show for it.

If it was just a matter of a few nips and tucks here and there, I’d be thrilled. Finding the problem has gotten me one step closer to the finishing line…but I’ve realised the problem I’m having is not with a particular character or scene. It’s the style! The simplest way I can explain it is the way the thunderbolt hit me: it’s too ‘Agatha Christie’ when it should be more ‘Sherlock Holmes’.

I’ve been making the plot overly complicated – adding too many possibilities. I could stretch it out to a full-fledged novel (or at least a novella) but it’s not working as a short story. I need to make it work as a short story!!!

This ‘little brainwave’ of mine has just made a whole lot of extra work for me, with a very short amount of time left to do it. I foresee a very long weekend of re-writing ahead…

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

