Umm…I’m a writer…

Yesterday I went to a reunion of students who lived at my residential college in 2003. I got to catch up with some people I haven’t seen in years. I got to hear all about their amazing jobs with huge companies, their partners, new houses and children…and then it came to the part where they ask me what I’ve been up to…

I love writing, but it’s been a year since I’ve finished a major project, and as I’ve written before, my day job isn’t paying the bills right now. Under those circumstances it’s hard to be upbeat in the face of an overwhelming wall of other people’s success. Fortunately for me, there were a couple of artistically minded people there who were able to commiserate, but the conversation got kind of awkward with the more business focused people…

Don’t think I’m whinging. For the most part I had a great time, but it’s hard not to come away from such gatherings with just a hint of self-doubt. What else could I be doing to make my career progress faster? I’m not ready to give up on my dreams just yet, so I’m going to have to work really hard to start racking up a few achievements. There’s going to be another reunion next year for my 2004 class, and I’m really hoping I’ll have something more exciting to talk about!

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Umm…I’m a writer…

  1. If you write, you’re a writer! No matter how much money you make (or don’t make) from it. Don’t ever feel like you have to apologize for choosing to do what you love. Then again…that’s what I keep trying to tell myself…

    I don’t know if you’ve heard of Zen Pencils, but this particular comic really struck a chord in me: http://zenpencils.com/comic/128-bill-watterson-a-cartoonists-advice/

    • I think it’s something that only the artistically inclined understand… I’m very comfortable talking about where I’m at with other writers/artists/musicians/etc because they’re going through the same things, but it’s a lot harder to explain to doctors, lawyers, HR managers and others with fancy titles. (As the great cartoon you linked to demonstrates!)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

