Book Review: Stardust

I was first inspired to read Neil Gaiman’s work after seeing the two Doctor Who episodes he wrote (The Doctor’s Wife and Nightmare in Silver), but I chose Stardust to be the first after reading this review by The Book Boozer.

Dunstan Thorne is a sheep farmer who lives in the village of Wall, so named because it is on the border between our world and the world of Faerie. The villagers keep up a constant guard at the gap in the wall, which is relaxed only once every nine years, when the two worlds meet for a magical market. Nine months after one such market, a basket is pushed through the gap in the wall, containing a baby boy called Tristran, the product of Dunstan’s dalliance with a denizen of the Faerie world.

Tristran grows up to become a sheep farmer like his father, but just before his 18th birthday he falls in love with the beautiful Victoria Forester and promises to retrieve for her the star they witnessed falling to earth one evening. Tristran is surprised to be allowed through the gap in the wall, and sets out east to find the star, little realising that he is not the only person searching for it…

As often happens when you choose a book based on its reviews,Β Stardust wasn’t exactly what I expected, but I loved it nonetheless. In fact I devoured it. I spent much of Thursday on various trains…I started the book when I got on the first one at lunch time, and arrived at my destination almost half-way through it. Later that night, I arrived home after an approximately five hour round-trip with only ten pages left to read! To be perfectly honest, I found the early chapters (set in our world) were hard work, but once Tristran stepped through the wall to Faerie, the story swept me away too, and I found myself on the edge of my seat waiting to see what would happen next.

Stardust is a fairy tale for adults, and one I would recommend to lovers of fairy stories (Enid Blyton’s Magic Faraway Tree series springs to mind) or escapist fantasies like the Chronicles of Narnia.

Categories: Books, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Stardust

  1. The Doctor’s Wife is my all-time favorite Doctor Who episode! I didn’t even know who Neil Gaiman was back then πŸ™‚ I’m glad that you liked this book as much as I did! If you had trouble with the part set in our world, try picking up Neverwhere next. He jumps right on in to the fairy tale in that one, but it is a little on the dark side compared to Stardust.

  2. I’ve yet to read Stardust though it’s on my list of books to read. The last Gaiman novel I’ve read was Ocean at the End of the Land. I highly recommend it if you like cats, books, and magic.

    • I’m not a huge fan of cats (I’m more of a dog person) but books, magic and books about magic are very high on my list of likes!! Looks like my TBR pile just got longer again πŸ™‚

  3. Brilliantly Novel

    I loved Stardust! Have you seen the movie? It’s, like, the one instance where the movie is slightly better than the book (in my humble opinion). I highly recommend it πŸ™‚

    Thebookboozer is right, Neverwhere is a fantastic read. It also has this underlying social commentary that I found fascinating. You should definitely pick it up.

    • I saw the DVD of Stardust on sale just before Christmas, but decided to wait until I’d read the book…now I can’t find it anywhere!!

      Neverwhere is on my TBR, but so are about 50 other things…maybe I’ll have to move it up the list! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

