A reading challenge

Throughout 2013, I frequently saw other bloggers updating their progress on reading challenges, but as I didn’t start my blog until March last year, I missed the opportunity to join any myself. I wasn’t seriously considering joining any this year either, until the “Back to the Classics 2014” challenge caught my eye. Hosted by Karen K. at Books and Chocolate, the challenge encourages readers to branch out and read more classics (Defined for the purposes of the challenge as books published more than 50 years ago – before 1964.) I’ve always loved reading classics, particularly Jane Austen, Louisa May Alcott, Agatha Christie, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Shakespeare and even the odd Dickens, so finding classics which I a) hadn’t already read, and b) am interested in reading, was the real challenge for me here.The other bonus of choosing a challenge full of classics is that most of them should be fairly easy to find, and inexpensive too. I know two of my choices are sitting unread on my shelves already, and the others should be available at my favorite second-hand bookshop or local library. (If the worst comes to the worst, I’m sure I’ve seen many of my choices available for free eBook download on Amazon!) After a whole afternoon’s procrastination research…here are the categories, and the books I hope to read for each one. (All reviews will be linked to this list as I complete them. Additional requirements for each category can be found by clicking on the image above.) Required:

  1. A 20th Century Classic: D. E. Stevenson – Miss Buncle’s Book (1934)
  2. A 19th Century Classic: Oscar Wilde – The Picture of Dorian Gray (1890)
  3. A Classic by a Woman Author: Charlotte Brontë (As Currer Bell) – Villette (1853)
  4. A Classic in Translation: Alexandre Dumas – The Man in the Iron Mask (1848)
  5. A Classic About WarErich Maria Remarque – All Quiet on the Western Front (1929)
  6. A Classic by an Author Who Is New To You: Mary Shelley – Frankenstein (1818)

Optional Categories:

  1. An American Classic: Stephen Crane – The Red Badge of Courage (1895)
  2. A Classic Mystery, Suspense or Thriller: Fergus Hume – The Mystery of a Hansom Cab (1886)
  3. A Historical Fiction Classic: Baroness Orczy – The Scarlet Pimpernel (1905)
  4. A Classic That’s Been Adapted Into a Movie or TV Series: H. G. Wells – The Time Machine (1895)
  5. Extra Fun Category:  Write a Review of the Movie or TV Series adapted from Optional Category #4. The Time Machine (2002)
Categories: Books | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A reading challenge

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Mystery of a Hansom Cab | Musings of an aspiring scribbler

  2. Pingback: NaNo’s over… Now what? | Musings of an aspiring scribbler

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

