#MyWritingProcess

I’ve been tagged to participate in the #MyWritingProcess blog hop by Kai*Jordan (Thanks Kai!)

What I’m working on

To be honest, apart from the book reviews on this blog I haven’t written a lot lately. I have ideas, and outlines, but for some reason that’s all they’ve come to so far. I’m currently working on a short story for a competition that closes at the end of October, and I’m hoping to embark on a new history project in the near future.

How does my work differ from others in the genre

This is a tough one, because at the moment I’m not really writing in one specific genre…

Why do I write what I do

Fiction: I’m heavily influenced by crime novels (I have ALL 66 of Agatha Christie’s in my collection) and fantasy (I started off with the Chronicles of Narnia and The Lord of the Rings, devoured the Harry Potter series and now I really wish I had more time to finish reading A Song of Ice and Fire).

Non-fiction: I majored in Ethnomusicology at university, then followed it up by doing a business course that focused on using Microsoft programs for document creation. When I was offered actual MONEY to combine these skills and produce a history book, I obviously jumped at the chance!

How does my writing process work?

I’m actually a big fan of deadlines. I need them. When I’m just writing for the heck of it, not a lot happens. Put a deadline in front of me and there’s a sudden flurry of activity. I suppose it comes from my university training…

When I’m starting a new story, there’s usually a lot of planning goes on. Character profiles, photographs of real places that inspire me (or hand-drawn sketches of imagined scenes). If I’m working in an imaginary world I’ll start with a map, much like the ones in Tolkien or Martin’s books.

I still struggle a bit with the concept of letting myself write a bad first draft. I tend to write one day, then revise what I’ve written the next day before moving on. Perhaps this is why I only seem to finish short stories!

Who I’m tagging

Jodie Llewellyn describes herself as “an aspiring YA author and book blogger”. She is due to celebrate her first bloggiversay (bloggOversary?) later this month, and I am in awe of the following she has developed in such a short time.

Jeff Coleman Writes (really well!!) He describes himself as a modern literary fantasy author, and I can’t wait for the next installment in his current serial, A Case of Mistaken Identity.

Categories: Writing | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

