NaNoWriMo 2014: Day One

Well, down here we’re already off and racing (literally, it’s Derby Day here today, with the Melbourne Cup being run on Tuesday) but I’ve been trying to tune out the racing and focus on the WRITING. It’s the first day of my first NaNo, and apart from a few niggles, it’s been going well.

Day OneYep, today I wrote the first 2,001 words of my novel. That’s about a chapter and a half (at least that’s the way I’ve divided it up). I stayed up until after 3:00 am finishing my character profiles, but was then too tired to do any actual writing, so didn’t get started until after lunch. Luckily the words flowed pretty freely after that (apart from the constant replacing of a loose ‘t’ key. Apparently I type much faster than it would like!)

I’m happy with how things are going at the moment, but now I have to stop, because I’m going out for dinner with a fellow WriMo…luckily she’s already reached her word target for the day too!

Good luck to all the WriMo’s who’s timezones are only just coming into November. I can’t wait to see how you’re all progressing!

Note: I swear there aren’t nearly as many exclamation points in my novel as there are in this post…I’m just so darn excited!!

Categories: Writing | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “NaNoWriMo 2014: Day One

  1. Pingback: Weekend Reads: Welcome to NaNoWriMo | manuscripts & marginalia

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

