NaNoWriMo 2014: Day 6

Big news of the day: I’ve established that documents from my laptop transfer to my tablet with a minimum of fuss. To be honest that’s the reason I chose the brand of tablet I did, but it’s nice to know I can put the theory into practice. Sadly, balancing my tablet (with attached keyboard) on my lap in the front seat of a moving car was not as easy as I’d hoped, so I didn’t get as much work done on the road as I’d planned.

While writing, I also found myself repeating earlier parts of the story for the benefit of the new characters I’ve introduced. In real life, a person does have to explain themselves (what you do, family, where you live etc) to new people when they first meet. In the context of a novel, and particularly when the protagonist is meeting so many new people one after the other, it does get a bit tedious for the reader. My inner editor desperately wants to turf great swathes of the text as being boring and repetitive, but my competitive side is telling me, ‘it’s just the first draft – and you’ll never finish 50,000 words in a month if you start cutting things out!’ So the rubbish stays, for now at least…

In other news, I caught a fish today. Just a little tiddler that I had to throw back, but after a frustrating hour staring through crystal clear water watching fish after fish take my bait without touching the hook, it was edifying to finally catch one on what I’d already decided would have to be the last cast of the day!

Categories: Writing | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

