NaNoWriMo 2014: Day 12

Today was a good writing day – until I got distracted by dinner. I got plenty written this afternoon, but ever since the dinner break, I’m struggling to get back into the flow.

I’ve known for a while now that I wasn’t happy with the way some elements of the story were coming along. I’d envisioned the novel I’m writing as an ensemble piece, but far too many chapters were focused on the protagonist, while other characters were being left by the wayside. Today I dealt with this by going back through what I’d already written and adding a couple of chapters dealing with a secondary relationship which I had always intended to develop throughout the main narrative.

I’m not sure why I hadn’t added these chapters before. Perhaps because it was going to interrupt my thought processes regarding the primary plot. Perhaps because I wasn’t sure where the tangent belonged in the chronology. I think part of it was because I wasn’t sure exactly why the characters hadn’t hooked up earlier. The couple in question are both in their 60’s: a divorced male and a woman who never married. This morning I decided it was time to explore this relationship more, so I asked the woman (in my head of course) ‘why do you hate him so much?’ Please don’t think I’m going crazy, but I actually got an answer. Again: I know this was in my head – I can still tell the difference between reality and imagination (I think).

I’m not going to tell you the answer I got – but I will tell you that it made a lot of sense, and now I’ve got three chapters more than I had this morning…

Categories: Writing | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2014: Day 12

  1. All the best for NaNoWriMo! It’s such a great way to get us all writing!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

