Challenge Accepted (and completed!)

fa039-classics2014 And here we are, the end of the Back to the Classics 2014 journey. You will all know by now that this year I took part in the Challenge, which was hosted by Karen K. at Books and Chocolate. This is the last post I will publish on the subject (this year!) Below are the categories I completed, with links to the reviews I’ve posted and the reasons why these books qualify for each category. I was careful to choose only books that I had never read before (or at least, books I’d never completed before: I did attempt Dorian Gray and The Man in the Iron Mask many years ago, but got no further than the first chapter of each) and I read each from the beginning after January 1st 2014. Some I really enjoyed – others not so much, but I did completely finish each and every one of them.

As I have completed all categories, I have earned 3 entries in the prize draw.

Required categories:

  1. A 20th Century Classic: D. E. Stevenson – Miss Buncle’s Book (Published in 1934)
  2. A 19th Century Classic: Oscar Wilde – The Picture of Dorian Gray (Published in 1890)
  3. A Classic by a Woman Author: Charlotte Brontë (As Currer Bell) – Villette (1853)
  4. A Classic in Translation: Alexandre Dumas – The Man in the Iron Mask (1848) Originally published in French
  5. A Classic About WarErich Maria Remarque – All Quiet on the Western Front (1929) An account of WWI
  6. A Classic by an Author Who Is New To You: Mary Shelley – Frankenstein (1818) I’ve never read this, or anything by Mary Shelley before

Optional Categories:

  1. An American Classic: Stephen Crane – The Red Badge of Courage (1895) Isn’t every American school child made to read this?
  2. A Classic Mystery, Suspense or Thriller: Fergus Hume – The Mystery of a Hansom Cab (1886) One of the first mystery novels written in Australia
  3. A Historical Fiction Classic: Baroness Orczy – The Scarlet Pimpernel (1905) Set in 1792
  4. A Classic That’s Been Adapted Into a Movie or TV Series: H. G. Wells – The Time Machine (1895)
  5. Extra Fun Category:  Write a Review of the Movie or TV Series adapted from Optional Category #4. The Time Machine (2002)

I loved doing this challenge, and have already selected the reading list I’ll be attempting for the 2015 challenge.

Categories: Books | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

