Word vomit…

I know… it’s not a nice title, but it describes this post so well.

I have big goals this year. I want to edit my NaNo novel, and get it to a point where I’m prepared to show it to publishers. There’s a bunch of competitions I want to enter. I’m already planning my second novel. Right now, a blank page is my worst enemy.

Don’t get me wrong… I love the feeling of starting a new story. As Beatrix Potter said, “There is something delicious about writing the first words of a story. You never quite know where they’ll take you.” Unfortunately, starting a new story is not always easy. Sometimes a story pops into my head almost fully formed. There is a beginning, a middle, and an end. There is a character (or characters) that I love. I just have to put them all together and see what happens. Then there are the other times. The times when I’ve got nothing. Or worse, the times when a deadline is looming – and I’ve got nothing.

Those are the times when I have to give myself permission to suck. The most important thing I learned from NaNo was to shut off the inner editor and just write. Whatever comes into my head. Just get it all out onto the page and sort out what’s usable later. Kind of like what I’m doing now, in fact. I have a few very bad drafts in the pipeline right now, but sadly, that’s all I have. My goal for this week? To make at least one of these drafts into something readable… or come up with something better!

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Word vomit…

  1. Just writing is the best advice. Just write something, anything. You can sort it out later, but if you have nothing then that’s worse 😀

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

