Damn it January, where did you go?

I started off this year with such good intentions… I was going to blog more. I was going to write more short stories. I was going to start editing my novel. I’m already falling behind.

Three deadlines for short story competitions have now passed me by. One of them I had a fantastic idea for, but not enough time to research. While I was letting this idea stew, nothing happened on the other competitions. The next deadline is in two weeks, and I’m honestly thinking I won’t have anything ready for that this year either… Oh well…

I started off blogging pretty regularly, 2-3 times a week, but the last week I’ve just had nothing to say for myself. I haven’t finished any books that I want to review, and I haven’t written anything. I bought about ten ‘new’ second-hand books, but I wasn’t going to admit to that (honestly, I lost count, but ten sounds about right).

I haven’t started editing my novel yet, although I was intending to go back to it with fresh eyes anyway, so maybe February will be the month for that. Is it just me, or is this year already moving way too fast?

Categories: Writing | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Damn it January, where did you go?

  1. It’s moving pretty quickly. I’ve noticed that time speeds up the older I get. (At least it feels that way.) I know exactly how you feel. I’ve been working on the first draft of my novel for ages (my full time job gets in the way) and sometimes it feels like I’ll never get it done. Be kind to yourself though. You’ll might not hit all the deadlines but as long as you enjoy what you’re doing, it’s not a wasted effort.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

