Pre NaNoWriMo check in 2015: 3 days to go

As I write this, there are just over 77 hours until I’m allowed to start writing this years’ NaNoWriMo masterpiece. I’m using a plot I’ve had simmering in my head for a couple of years, but until now I haven’t really sat down and hammered out the fine details. This week exciting things have been happening:

  • Characters that were merely a vague, blurry shape in my head are now developing real personalities, appearances, and even – miracle of miracles for me – names that I’m happy with!
  • Part of the plot originally read “they travel around a series of islands”. Now these islands are also developing names and individualised characteristics. (In fact, I’m actually having so much fun thinking up locations for the characters to visit that there may be enough material for several books here!)
  • Things are changing as I go along – a ship I saw as a wooden sailing ship suddenly seems to be telling me it would rather be a paddle-steamer (I don’t mean the ship literally talks, it’s just the vibe I get every time I think about it). Some of the characters have also changed appearance and occupation since I started, but I’m really feeling like the story will be better for it.

On the social front (who would have thought that attempting to write 50,000 words in a month would see me spending MORE time with other people?) I had an amazing time at our local region’s kick-off picnic over the weekend, and finally got to put faces to some of the names I’ve been anonymously chatting with on the NaNoWriMo forums… More to come soon!

Categories: Writing | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Pre NaNoWriMo check in 2015: 3 days to go

  1. That’s great you were able to go to a local meet. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

