NaNoWriMo 2015: Day 5

Minor crisis today. Remember those words I said came out so easily yesterday? Turns out they’re garbage. Not all of them, but there’s enough problems with them that I am, for the first time in a November, considering scrapping some of them – or at least putting them aside and hoping they’ll fit later in the story. The problem is not the quality (well, it possibly is, but that’s not worried me before). The problem is the content. It’s too nice. I let one character accept the appearance of another into her life too readily, which will make the rest of their interactions boring. I’ve possibly also made the potential love interest too attached to my protagonist too soon.

Methinks it’s time for some damage control…

Update: Minor crisis number one solved. I’ve made one character a bit snootier, and given another a few extra more serious lines. I feel this gives me more room for interpersonal drama later on in the story. I only had to cut 50 words (which I’ve kept in reserve in case I can use them in another scene) and managed to add another 400 or so in the process.

Minor crisis number two: After all that effort, my computer decided to throw a hissy fit and delete the whole lot. My entire 7500 words, that has taken me the last 4 and a half days to write. I say minor crisis, because thanks to the write-in yesterday I had most of those words saved on a USB stick, and only had to reconstruct the bits I’d added in today… I lost an hour, but better that than attempting to restore the whole lot!

Categories: Writing | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

