NaNoWriMo 2015: Day 13

I’ve mentioned a time or two before that I do my best work between Midnight and 2 am. Which is fine (for me) unless I actually have to get up and do something that affects other people the next morning. For example, if I have to get up and go to work, I have to try and go to sleep earlier, or sneak in some extra ‘Zs’ later in the day.

I’ve not done much writing today (at least not as much as I’ve hoped). I spent 45 minutes when I would normally be sleeping talking my grandmother through how to check her e-mails (she’s nearly 83, and never used a computer until this year). Since I’d been up half the night writing, I then ended up sneaking a 60 minute nap when I would normally be writing in the afternoon. It’s a vicious cycle.

As it is, I’m still a bit over 24 hours off the pace, but the good news is a couple of disconnected scenes I wrote earlier in the month have now found their place. I’m also coming up to a massive event that is going to affect the lives of many of the characters in a profound way (although as I’m writing this, I realise the event is quite similar to one that happened in last years’ novel…) Either way, I’m going to get the words out, and edit later!

Categories: Writing | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

