Post NaNoWriMo 2015: what next?

This time last year, NaNoWriMo ended, and I kind of burned out. I read a fair bit, and wrote a few book reviews, but writing fiction just didn’t happen. I missed a couple of short story competitions I really wanted to enter, because I had nothing ready.

I’m determined not to let that happen again. Last year, I decided that after writing 50,000 words in a month, I was entitled to a few days off from fiction. Those few days (with the exception of one aborted attempt at a short story inspired by my nephew) turned into almost 11 months. When I got down to NaNo prep at the beginning of October, I was excited, but out of practice… I started November with only half an outline – a beginning, and an ending, but no idea how the two were going to meet!

This year, I have a plan:

  • Last year my sister gave me a book of writing prompts for Christmas. I intend to pick one a day, every day, and write something (even if it’s only a couple of hundred words). I started doing this on December 1st, and I think it’s going to be a nice habit to get into.
  • I have a long list of upcoming writing competitions on a whiteboard in my room. I’ve been thinking about potential story ideas since half-way through November (some have themes or words/phrases that must be included in the story, some don’t). I’d like to enter at least one every two months in 2016, but there are more than that on my list.
  • Once I have a few of those out of the way – some of the deadlines are going to be quite a challenge – I’m planning to rewrite my 2014 NaNovel. I’ve had a few thoughts about some of the things that I know are wrong with it, and I think I’m ready to revisit it.

Does anyone else have any hints? How do you keep the momentum going once November is over?

Categories: Writing | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

