Back To The Classics (Again)

BackToTheClassics2016Once again, Karen at Books and Chocolate is running the ‘Back to the Classics’ challenge. This year (2015) I crashed and burned in this challenge, and only finished one book. This was mostly due to poor book choices, and the fact that most of them were on my kindle (which I broke). I tried to pick it up on the kindle app on my tablet, but I’d lost my place, and couldn’t be bothered finding it again…that particular book is not on my list this year!

So which books are on my list this year? I present the list below. I’m so excited about some of them that I’m sort of disappointed I can’t start reading until January 1st!

1.  A 19th Century Classic – Leo Tolstoy – Anna Karenina (1878)

2.  A 20th Century Classic – Franz Kafka – The Trial (1925)

3.  A classic by a woman author – Louisa May Alcott – An Old-Fashioned Girl (1869)

4.  A classic in translationNaguib Mahfouz – The Mirage (1948)

5.  A classic by a non-white author – Zora Neale Hurston – Their Eyes Were Watching God (1937)

6.  An adventure classic – Rudyard Kipling – Kim (1901)

7.  A fantasy, science fiction, or dystopian classicJules Verne – Journey to the Centre of the Earth (1864)

8.  A classic detective novel Ngaio Marsh – A Man Lay Dead (1934)

9.  A classic which includes the name of a place in the title – E. M. Forster – A Passage to India (1924)

10. A classic which has been banned or censored – Aldous Huxley – Brave New World (1932)

11. Re-read a classic you read in school (high school or college) Charles Dickens – Great Expectations (1861)

12. A volume of classic short stories Andrew Lang (Editor) – The Pink Fairy Book (1897)

Categories: Books | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Back To The Classics (Again)

  1. Karen K.

    Great list! I’m sorry it didn’t work out this year — and remember, you can change your books at any time! It’s fun to make up a list when you sign up, but you can absolutely change them (especially if you don’t like them). My final wrap-up list is never the same as my original list because I have so many classics I want to read and so many of them fit different categories. I’m glad you’re trying again and thanks for signing up!

  2. Great list! Anna Karenina is a great read despite of its volume, and I have chosen the same Forster-book for the same category 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

